¡Bienvenido a Costa Rica!

I arrived in San Jose at about 10pm on Saturday. We stopped at the market (where the woman working was less than pleased at my use of dollars since she has to get a manager to check every one), and then headed straight to base to meet by roommates and crash.

View from my front door. I’m standing inside our house.

Saturday we went on a walk in our local preserve up the street. It was great, but the hills here are killer! We also did some river hopping. We have to wade through thigh-high water to get home. That was my first real view of where I’m living since I arrived at night. The landscape not too shabby.

Osa in our river on the edge of the property. This is how we usually get to/from the preserve.

Osa in our river on the edge of the property. This is how we usually get to/from the preserve.

Then I got my first real taste of tico culture… we went to a sports bar to watch the Super Bowl. 🙂 Yup, that’s right, my roommate and I were the gringas locas yelling about every play!

Monday was the day we ran around town to get me all set up. Costa Rica does things a little differently. By differently, I mean slowly. Very very slowly. We were at the bank for almost 2 hours to open an account, deposit money, and exchange dollars for colones. Luckily Jeff, our Communication Director, was able to translate for opening an account, but I had to make my deposit/change on my own. The bank teller and I figured it out. And then we went to Walmart. Did I ever leave the States?

I’ve spent yesterday and today learning my job. Apparently the most important thing for me to know is: summer is going to be busy busy busy. But with views like this from our office, I can’t complain much.

Leave a Reply

