Dos Maletas

Ever wonder what 100 pounds of clothes and personal items looks like? Ya, me neither. Until about two weeks ago.

You see, airlines are just so picky! They insist they I can only bring two bags that only weigh 50 lbs each. Stupid airlines…

It’s funny, when I was going to backpack Europe for 6 months, I had ZERO concerns about living out of my 51 liter backpack. But I’m MOVING to Costa Rica, not backpacking, so for some reason I need a ton of stuff. :-/

My adventure started by buying way to much. As you know, I’m not really a shopper. Ok, so I don’t shop at all… same thing. But tell me it might be a little harder for me to get something for the next year, and all of the sudden I need it now! Honestly, a lot of what I bought I’ve been “looking at” for a while now, but I might have gone a little overboard too.

For example, this is why I’m never allowed to go to REI again:
IMG_0022

Or order off of Amazon:

Or go bra and bathing suit shopping (although I looooooove my new bathing suits from Jennette Bras):

That’s ok though, because I’m just never allowed to buy anything again. Ever.

Now back to the problem at hand. Get this to fit United Airlines’ regulations:

Yeah, I know. This is also a good lesson in our consumer based society. I own way too much crap. I still have a whole room full of more dresses, jackets, shirts, dress clothes, shoes, etc. etc. etc. that will never see Costa Rica.

But don’t you worry! (Because I know you were worried.) Voila! My luggage to Costa Rica:

Ok, it’s actually 2 bags, plus my backpack which is my carry on, plus my messenger bag which is my personal item. But still, I think that’s pretty darn good, and I deserve an A+ in packing.

In other news… in just a few hours I’ll be in Costa Rica! Everyone keeps asking me if I’m nervous, but I’m really not. I’m a little stressed because I didn’t get everything done here that I needed to, so I’m going with the “it will all work out in the end” mentality.

Leave a Reply

